Mama Tried

Welcome to my first fashion post on Red Dirt Style!

Growing up, I listened to a lot of Merle Haggard. Like, a lot. My dad is a talented musician and he always had Merle in his set list. From “Working Man Blues” to “Today I Started Loving You Again”, “If We Make It Through December”, “I Think I’ll Just Stay Here and Drink”, “Okie From Muskogee” and “Lonesome Fugitive”. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve listened to those songs. As an adult, I’ve found that my favorites are “Misery and Gin”, “Ramblin’ Fever” and “Natural High”. When I’m in the mood for Old Country, I go straight to Merle. Every time.

Many of you know I help with the G Fest festival that is slated for June 16-18 in Muskogee, OK. Merle was supposed to be our Saturday night headliner and we were so saddened by his death. Even though we will miss not having him at the festival, there are many great artists lined up to pay him tribute.

So on to the fashion:

Shirt: I found this “Mama Tried” shirt on Instagram last fall and just had to have it.  I found it from a cool online boutique called Hey Wanderer, based out of Nashville. If you have time, go read their “About” page. Such a cool story. The cool thing about the “Mama Tried” shirt is that it is unisex. I am a pretty solid Medium, but since it is a unisex shirt, I ordered a Small. It fits perfectly.

Necklace: Squash blossoms have been my obsession for the past year. I search eBay for them all the time and every time I am in an antique store or flea market, I am searching for one. My mother found this one for me at a flea market in Kansas. I will keep it forever! If you are not familiar with Squash blossoms, they are hand made Navajo necklaces that generally feature turquoise or mother of pearl. Mine just has a small turquoise stone, so it wasn’t too pricey, but they can run a couple thousand dollars, the more turquoise they have! Yikes! Make sure you keep your eyes open for them at flea markets and antique stores!

Mama-Tried-2 Mama-Tried-3

Jeans: My husband works in LA a lot and last summer, I decided to tag along with my kids. We explored all over the LA area and ended up at this super cool boutique in Long Beach, Prism Boutique. I could have bought one of everything! My favorite purchase were these flare jeans, made by Level 99. They are on the pricey side, but I’m telling you, I wear them all the time! They are soft and stretchy and the best part….I was able to buy a size 26! Hello?!? I have had three children and haven’t seen a 26 since I was a freshman in college. SOLD! I am usually a size 28, so make sure to order down two sizes. You need these jeans in your life!!! I have two different colors!

Shoes: I used to carry these fringe booties in my online store when it was up. They are so cute! I love the color, toe shape and heel. They are super comfy too, so I end up wearing them a lot with my flare jeans. I still have a 6.5, 8, 8.5 and 9 for $40. If you’d like a pair, we can arrange that through PayPal.

Stillwater-3web

Sunglasses: Forever 21. They broke the second time I wore them. I’m all about cheap sunglasses, but I have more luck with a pair from Target for about $18 than the $5 pair from Forever 21. I lose sunglasses all the time, so I never buy expensive ones.

Watch: Michael Kors from Nordstrom. Mine is a couple of years old, but it’s similar to this one. I love the color of the band. I wear it with everything.

I can’t wait to share more with you in the coming weeks!

 

Leave a Reply

